After receiving the assessment report from DGCA, you are eligible to apply straightaway for Class 1. Class 1 is only required at the time of issue of CPL. So, most flight schools accept candidates with just Class 2. However, it is strongly recommended to do Class 1 before committing a huge sum of money for your training.


  • Class 1 medical is of 3 types:
  • Initial – first medical
  • Renewal – done every year till 60 and every 6 months thereafter.
  • Re-initial - required when the renewal was not done for 2 years.


IAF centers - Initial
  • Air Force Central Medical Establishment (AFCME), Subroto Park, New Delhi
  • Medical Evaluation Cell, Jorhat, Assam
  • Medical Evaluation Centre (MEC), Institute of Aerospace Medicine (IAM), Bangalore
  • 11 Air Force Hospital, Hindon,
  • President MEC, Command Hospital Air Force, Bangalore
IAF centers - Re-initial
  • Air Force Central Medical Establishment (AFCME), Subroto Park, New Delhi
  • Medical Evaluation Cell, Jorhat, Assam
  • Medical Evaluation Centre (MEC), Institute of Aerospace Medicine (IAM), Bangalore
IAF centers Renewals
  • Air Force Central Medical Est. (AFCME), Delhi
  • Medical Evaluation Cell, MEC Jorhat, Assam
  • Medical Evaluation Centre (MEC), Bangalore
  • 11 Air Force Hospital (11 AFH), Hindon
  • Command Hospital Air Force, Bangalore
  • Air Force Station, Palam, Delhi
  • No. 1 Aero Medical Training Centre, Hindon
  • Air Force Station, Agra
  • Air Force Station, Kanpur
  • Air Force Station, Mumbai
  • Air Force Station, Lohegaon, Pune
  • Air Force Station, Tambaram, Chennai
  • Air Force Station, Yelahanka, Bangalore
  • Air Force Station, Begumpet, Secunderabad
  • Air Force Station, Hakimpet, Secunderabad
  • Air Force Station, Chandigarh
  • Air Force Station, Barrackpore, Kolkata
  • Air Force Station, Rajokri, New Delhi
  • Air Force Station, Gurgaon
  • Air Force Station, Thane, Mumbai
  • IAF Akkulam, Trivandrum
  • IAF Chiloda, Gandhinagar
Civil hospitals – Initials only
  • Dr. Balabhai Nanavati Hospital, Mumbai
  • Apollo Heart Centre, Chennai
  • DGCA approved Class 1 examiners – Renewals only
  • -Check DGCA website for latest list.

PMR Forwarding

Not required – for Class 1 initial medicals which are to be conducted at civil hospitals and for renewal medical examinations conducted by Class 1 Medical Examiners

Not required - for Air Force Medical Examination Centres except

Required – IAM Bangalore, AFCME Delhi, MEC(E) Jorhat, 11 AFH Hindon, CHAF’B’ Bangalore


Civilian centers – contact directly to schedule an appointment.

IAF centers

  • The first step is PMR forwarding by DGCA to the desired center. Request need to be sent as per the prescribed format to , 15-90 days prior to desired date.
  • Candidates are required to give minimum 2 and maximum 5 choices of centers just in case the slots are not available at a particular center on the desired date.
  • It takes about 7 working days for the appointment process and you will receive an email confirmation from DGCA with date, center and commitment that PMR will be dispatched there in due time.

Special Cases

Medical exam in the following cases are only conducted at AFCME, New Delhi, IAM IAF Bangalore and MEC(E), Jorhat.

  • Cases of special medical (after disease/ physical condition)
  • Cases of review after a period of Temporary Unfitness for assessment of fitness are conducted at IAM/ AFCME/ MEC(E).
  • Appeal cases of Class I/ II Medical examinations at IAM/ AFCME.
  • Medicals at age 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60 and all medicals between 60-65 at IAM/ AFCME.
  • Every fourth medical in aircrew less than 40 yrs of age and every seventh medical after age of 40 yrs of age.
  • Re-initial Medical. Class I medical where a renewal has not been done for more than 2 years.
  • Any medical which is specifically advised to be done at these centres as per AIC/ Medical Assessment.